A New Project

Hello, faithful readers!

Before that title starts to worry you: False Steps is still continuing, and in fact I’m aiming for a new entry next week. You may have noticed the recent downtime, though, downtime which I’ve been using to launch a new project blog. There may not be a lot of overlap in the “space travel aficionado” and “baseball fan” Venn diagram, but on the off-chance that some of you might be interested….

Forgive a little self-promotion and please be invited to They Played The Game, which like my last two blog projects is aimed at ultimately producing a book. The topic this time is baseball players who looked like they were going to be all-time greats but failed to do it for whatever reason. We’ll be looking at their stories, and trying to figure out what they could have done if everything broke right instead of going wrong.

We now return to your regularly scheduled Moon shots—in the literal sense of the words and not as a metaphor for hitting a baseball a long, long way.

5 thoughts on “A New Project

  1. I am amazed by the quality of your work and if not in a difficult economical position as I am now I would most certainly contribute in a substantial way to your book and other projects. If there is anything I can do to help promote your work on my side of the internet, please let me know. I am a good illustrator and technical draftsman and I have a few hard to find of books on spacecrafts. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

  2. Pingback: [BLOG] Some Thursday links | A Bit More Detail

  3. Paul, are you noticing any similarities between the common reasons why baseball careers fail and the reasons why space projects fail? For example, I’m guessing that unrealistic expectations, bad timing and confidently promising more than they could deliver will appear on both lists.

    • Not so far, no. I think the major difference between the two sets is that spacecraft are of necessity a team effort, while failing players are often a case of individual failure (injury, whathaveyou).

      For Kal Daniels, one thing that held him back was the Reds being unable to pick an outfield and stick with it. That’s not too different from the thicket of different programs the USSR entertained for the Moon. Organizational dithering is never good.

Leave a Reply

